Only 172 Universities out of 612 are accredited by NAAC


Out of 612 Universities in the country, only 172 of them have been accredited by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC). Out of the Universities accredited, 67 have been placed in Grade A, 99 Universities in Grade B and only 6 in Grade C, based on scores awarded during the process of accreditation. NAAC follows the process of Grade accreditation only and does not undertake threshold accreditation, i.e the Grade is only a relative value assigned to a university and does not denote an absolute attribute of quality.

At present, accreditation is voluntary for Higher Education Institutions in the country. A Legislation namely National Accreditation Regulatory Authority for Higher Educational Institutions Bill, 2010 has been introduced in Parliament which proposes to make accreditation mandatory for all Higher Education Institutions. Quality improvement is a continuous process in Universities and University Grants Commission (UGC) has reported that it has taken several steps to improve quality of universities, which include issuing Regulations on maintenance of standards and quality in all universities, including Private Universities, deemed to be universities, Central Universities and state universities.

Press Information Bureau

You are reading this article on, stay tuned for career & education news! For regular updates like us on Facebook.

Social comments


Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Captcha * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload CAPTCHA.